Saturday 19 March 2011 at 23h09

This afternoon the Classic Loire Atlantique took place on a 16.8 kilometer long circuit which was repeated 11 times (see the Classic Loire Atlantique race route on Google Maps). From a group of 3 riders, the Dutch rider Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team) finally turned out to be the winner by crossing the finish line alone, a few seconds ahead of the two other riders.

Usually you find here a complete summary of the race, but today was a bit special for me and didn't really turned out to be as I expected. Nothing bad however ... no, I was able to follow the race on a motor bike thanks to the organisation and the MASC (Moto Assistance Sécurité Course) association.

The first leading groupAfter a few laps, a first leading group was formed by Julien Fouchard (Cofidis, le crédit en ligne), Evaldas Siskevicius (Vélo Club La Pomme Marseille), Rony Martias (Saur-Sojasun), Julien Berard (AG2R La Mondiale), Bert Scheirlinx (Landbouwkrediet), Pim Ligthart (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team), Jonathan Thiré (BigMat Auber 93), Julian Guay (Roubaix Lille Métropole) and Guillaume Blot (Bretagne-Schuller).

Progressively however, the peloton came back on these 9 riders and stayed together for a few kilometers before The second leading groupThomas Degand (Veranda's Willems-Accent) and Guillaume Levarlet (Saur-Sojasun) manage to get away from the peloton. Damien Monier (Cofidis, le crédit en ligne), Geert Verheyen (Landbouwkrediet) and Nicolas Bazin (BigMat-Auber 93) join these two riders and the 5 riders together manage to increase their gap on the peloton to over 6 minutes.

Guillaume LevarletWith such a big gap it seemed for a while that this leading group would hold on until the finish, but the peloton finally decided to start the pursuit and just before they were taken back, Guillaume Levarlet decided to launch a solo attack.

Frédéric Amorison (Landbouwkrediet), Anthony Geslin (FDJ), Jean Marc Marino (Saur-Sojasun) & Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team)This attack didn't however turn out to be successful since the whole peloton got back together a few kilometers further. Quickly afterwards, Frédéric Amorison (Landbouwkrediet), Anthony Geslin (FDJ), Jean Marc Marino (Saur-Sojasun) and Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team) start a new leading group and from this leading group, the Dutch rider of the Vacansoleil team finally continues on to victory.

Finishing in a group of three riders, he attacked a few hunderds of meters before the finish line to take a solo victory, two seconds ahead of Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet) and 9 seconds ahead of the French rider Yohan Cauquil of the Velo Club La Pomme Marseille who finished 3rd.

>> Check out the (first) photos of the Classic Loire Atlantique 2011 (more to follow)


The classification of the Classic Loire Atlantique 2011

Lieuwe WestraThe top 10 of this 12th edition of the Classic Loire Atlantique is as follows:

1/ Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team)
2/ Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet) - +0'02"
3/ Yohan Cauquil (Vélo Club La Pomme Marseille) - +0'09"
4/ Toms Skujins (Vélo Club La Pomme Marselle) - +0'16":
5/ Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team) - +0'22"
6/ Anthony Geslin (FDJ)
7/ Frédéric Amorison (Landbouwkrediet)
8/ Laurent Mangel (Saur-Sojasun)
9/ Arnoud van Groen (Veranda's Willems-Accent)
10/ Thomas Voeckler (Team Europcar)

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

3 comments | 3563 views

this publication is published in: Classic Loire Atlantique


There are 3 comments!
  1. Mon cher Thomas tout d'abord je te remercie d'avoir accepter mon invitation sur l'épreuve dont je suis le secrétaire, puis encore te remercier d'avoir accepter ma proposition et de monter avec Gérald sur la Moto de l'association MASC.
    Désolé mais nous n'avons pas eu le temps de nous dire au revoir mais j'espère que cette journée à La Haye-Fouassière t'a plus.

    Amicalement et en espérant te revoir prochainement sur une course ou ailleur.

    | Laurent | Sunday 20 March 2011 om 00h23

  2. Si la Belgique est le pays des classiques, toutes télévisées, la France
    est l' autre pays des classiques avec toutes ces belles courses qui montent en notoriété.

    | pascal51 | Wednesday 23 March 2011 om 11h14

  3. Merci beaucoup de ce compliment,
    je le transmet à tout le comité d'organisation dont je suis le secrétaire.

    | Laurent | Wednesday 23 March 2011 om 16h10

Leave a comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of six times five ?