Wednesday 16 June 2010 at 21h53

The day before the queen stage of the Tour of Switzerland 2010, the 153 remaining riders connected Wettingen to Frutigen over 172.5 kilometers today during the 5th stage. Quite rapidly a leading group was formed and from this group Marcus Burghardt (BMC Racing Team) launched an attack in the last kilometers to take the stage victory. Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia), who finished 47 seconds later in the peloton keeps the yellow leader's jersey ... waiting for the queen stage tomorrow!

The summary of the 5th stage of the 2010 Tour of Switzerland: Wettingen > Frutigen

153 riders came to the start in Wettingen this morning: Heinrich Haussler (Cervélo TestTeam), Arnaud Coyot (Caisse d'Epargne) and Lloyd Mondory Arnaud Coyot(AG2R La Mondiale) didn't come to the start after the massive fall at the end of yesterday's stage while José-Luis Arrieta (AG2R La Mondiale) suffers according to a press release from the team from a left elbow fracture after a fall in the last kilometers before the finish in yesterday's stage. The Spanish rider will not be able to participate in any competitions for at least three weeks but the real length of his unavailability will depend on the evolution of his injury.

Today's stage proposed after 30 kilometers the climb of the Hämikon Berg, which didn't award any points for the King of the Mountains classification, followed by the climb of the Schallenberg (2nd category) of which the top was reached after 116.6 kilometers, the climb towards Aeschi (3rd category) and the slightly uphill road towards the finish in Frutigen.

Angelo FurlanAfter an attack without success by Simon Gerrans (Team Sky) and Ludovic Turpin (AG2R La Mondiale), at kilometer 11 today's leading group was formed by Daniel Oss (Liquigas-Doimo), Marcus Burghardt (BMC Racing Team), Angelo Furlan (photo, Lampre-Farnese Vini), Javier Aramendia (Euskaltel-Euskadi) and Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Transitions). Since Javier Aramendia was best placed in the general classification at 11'15", the peloton let them go. Their gap went up to 5'30" before going down and oscillate between 2 and 4 minutes.

Rui CostaAfter having left Angelo Furlan at 14 kilometers from the finish, the leading group also lost Javier Aramendia a bit over 10 kilometers from the finish. Pablo Lastras and Rui Costa (photo) of the Caisse d'Epargne team attack to start the pursuit of the leading trio but the riders of the red and black team were rapidly taken back by the peloton.

At 1.3 kilometers from the finish Marcus Burghardt attacked from the leading trio and this attack turned out to be decisive. Indeed, the German rider won the stage, 2 seconds ahead of Martijn Maaskant and 4 seconds ahead of Daniel Oss. Robbie McEwenIn the peloton Robbie McEwen (Katusha Team) wins the sprint for the 4th place at 47 seconds from the winner of the 18th stage of the Tour de France 2008 from Bourg d'Oisans to Saint-Etienne.

Sébastien Hinault (AG2R La Mondiale) had to abandon the race because of health issues during the stage. The team from Chambéry also lost Ludovic Turpin in today's stage (there are thus only 4 riders left in the team) while Gerben Löwik (Omega Pharma-Lotto) abandoned after a fall due to a problem with his breaks. Cameron Meyer (Garmin-Transitions) also gave up during this stage. There are now 149 riders left in the Tour of Switzerland 2010.

The classifications after the 5th stage of the 2010 Tour of Switzerland


Classification of the 5th stage Wettingen > Frutigen

Marcus BurghardtIn the top 3 of today's stage we find the leading trio which was left from the early break-away, followed in the top 10 by the Australian sprinter Robbie McEwen:

1/ Marcus Burghardt (BMC Racing Team) - 4h21'23" (39,597 km/h)
2/ Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Transitions) - +0'02"
3/ Daniel Oss (Liquigas-Doimo) - +0'04"
4/ Robbie McEwen (Katusha Team) - +0'47"
5/ Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Farnese Vini)
6/ Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team)
7/ Carlos Barredo (Quick Step)
8/ Johannes Fröhlinger (Team Milram)
9/ José Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne)
10/ Simon Gerrans (Team Sky)

General classification

Tony MartinThis 5th stage didn't lead to any changes in the top 10 of the general classification of the Tour of Switzerland 2010. After tomorrow's stage the top 10 will probably change a bit ...

1/ Tony Martin (HTC-Columbia) - 18h57'47"
2/ Fabian Cancellara (Team Saxo Bank) - +0'01"
3/ Thomas Löfkvist (Team Sky) - +0'09"
4/ Rigoberto Uran (Caisse d'Epargne) - +0'10"
5/ Dries Devenyns (Quick Step) - +0'11"
6/ Steve Morabito (BMC Racing Team) - +0'11"
7/ Fränk Schleck (Team Saxo Bank) - +0'13"
8/ Jakob Fuglsang (Team Saxo Bank) - +0'14"
9/ Nicolas Castroviejo (Euskaltel-Euskadi) - +0'15"
10/ Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) - +0'17"


Classification by points

Marco MarcatoThe top 10 of the classification by points of the Tour of Switzerland 2010 after 5 stages is as follows:

1/ Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team) - 42 points
2/ José Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) - 30 points
3/ Marcus Burghardt (BMC Racing Team) - 25 points
4/ Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre-Farnese Vini) - 25 points
5/ Fabian Cancellara (Team Saxo Bank) - 24 points
6/ Robbie McEwen (Katusha Team) - 24 points
7/ Pablo Urtasun (Euskaltel-Euskadi) - 20 points
8/ Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Transitions) - 20 points
9/ Matti Breschel (Team Saxo Bank) - 20 points
10/ Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) - 19 points

King of the Mountains classification

Aitor HernandezBefore tomorrow's stage with two hors catégorie climbs and one first category climb, the top 10 of the King of the Mountains classification for the Tour of Switzerland 2010 is as follows:

1/ Aitor Hernandez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) - 19 points
2/ Alexandre Pliuschin (Katusha Team) - 18 points
3/ Mathias Frank (BMC Racing Team) - 15 points
4/ Daniel Oss (Liquigas-Doimo) - 13 points
5/ Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team) - 8 points
6/ Marcus Burghardt (BMC Racing Team) - 8 points
7/ Matthias Russ (Team Milram) - 8 points
8/ Ermanno Capelli (Footon-Servetto) - 8 points
9/ Pavel Brutt (Katusha Team) - 7 points
10/ Jussi Veikkanen (Française des Jeux) - 6 points

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

1 comment | 2513 views

this publication is published in: Tour of Switzerland | Tour of Switzerland 2010 | UCI ProTour


There are 1 comments!

    | Roland TISSIER | Thursday 17 June 2010 om 08h32

Leave a comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
The address of your website

Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of seven times one ?