tuesday 18 May 2010 at 17h25

A scenario as expected for a stage like this one: a leading group with 3 riders which is taken back before the end, followed by a bunch sprint, won by the house sprinter of the Garmin-Transitions team in this Giro d'Italia 2010, Tyler Farrar.

The summary of the 10th stage of the Giro d'Italia 2010: Avellino > Bitonto

This morning, the 182 riders who came to the start in Avellino must have realised that this would be the first day of this Giro d'Italia 2010 during which they would have nice weather during the whole 230 kilometer stage towards Bitonto!

8 kilometers after the start Hubert Dupont (AG2R La Mondiale) and Charles Wegelius (Omega Pharma-Lotto), who Hubert Dupontalready tried to get away at the end of the 8th stage (won by Chris Anker Sörensen), formed the first leading group. Dario Cataldo (Quick Step), who started the pursuit immediately after their attack, joins them a few kilometers further to form today's leading trio.

The peloton allows them to get a gap of up to 7'50" at 194 kilometers from the finish, before starting the pursuit, led by Team Sky.

Charles WegeliusAt the top of the climb towards Valico dell'Imbandina, Wegelius is the first to arrive, ahead of Dupont and Cataldo. The peloton has a 4'30" delay there.

At 50 kilometers from the finish, the gap is down to 1'20" but a fall in the peloton in Corato allows the three escapees to increase their gap a little bit.

In Molfetta quite a lot of people came to see the intermediate sprint which was won by Dario Cataldo, ahead of Hubert Dupont and Charles Wegelius. The gap with the peloton, led by Garmin-Transitions and HTC-Columbia, was down to only 17 seconds and it was thus sure the three leading riders would be taken back.

Some of the sprinters were already at the head of the peloton when some riders fell when turning to the right in Giovinazzo. Fortunately they've all been able to get back in the peloton and to move up to the front to get ready for a bunch sprint.
Julian DeanMatteo Tossato (Quick Step) was the first to get at the head of the peloton in the last kilometer before leaving his place to Julian Dean (Garmin-Transitions) in the last 300 meters. Finally, the New-Zealander left his place to Tyler Farrar who won this 10th stage in the sprint.

The videos of the 10th stage of the Giro d'Italia 2010

> Click here to watch the images of the last kilometer of the Avellino > Bitonto stage in the Tour of Italy 2010

The classifications


The stage classification of this 10th stage of the Giro d'Italia 2010

Here's the top 10 of this stage between Avellino and Bitonto:

1/ Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) - 5h49'14" (39.515 km/h)
2/ Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas-Doimo)
3/ Julian Dean (Garmin-Transitions)
4/ Robbie McEwen (Katusha Team)
5/ Robert Förster (Team Milram)
6/ Sébastien Hinault (AG2R La Mondiale)
7/ André Greipel (HTC-Columbia)
8/ Danilo Hondo (Lampre-Farnese Vini)
9/ Leonardo Duque (Cofidis)
10/ Matthew Hayman (Team Sky) - +0'03"

General classification after 10 stages

Alexandre VinokourovAgain no changes in the general classification:

1/ Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) - 38h59'00"
2/ Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) - +1'12"
3/ Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Doimo) - +1'33"
4/ Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Doimo) - +1'51"
5/ Marco Pinotti (HTC-Columbia) - +2'17"
6/ Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank) - +2'26"
7/ Vladimir Karpets (Katusha Team) - +2'34"
8/ Stefano Garzelli (Acqua & Sapone) - +2'47"
9/ Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Farnese Vini) - +3'08"
10/ Michele Scarponi (Androni Giocattoli-Diquigiovanni) - +3'09"

Classification by points

Tyler FarrarWith his second stage victory Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) secures his red leader's jersey of the classification by points even more:

1/ Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) - 84 points
2/ Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) - 52 points
3/ Matthew Goss (HTC-Columbia) - 47 points
4/ Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) - 47 points
5/ Robert Förster (Team Milram) - 47 points
6/ Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) - 46 points
7/ Graeme Brown (Rabobank) - 43 points
8/ André Greipel (HTC-Columbia) - 41 points
9/ Jérôme Pineau (Quick Step) - 39 points
10/ Danilo Hondo (Lampre-Farnese Vini) - 38 points

King of the Mountains classification

The points for the mountain classification on the only climb of the day were distributed among the escaped riders, but that didn't influence its 5:

1/ Matthew Lloyd (Omega Pharma-Lotto) - 16 points
2/ Chris Anker Sörensen (Team Saxo Bank) - 15 points
3/ Paul Voss (Team Milram) - 10 points
4/ Simone Stortoni (Colnago - CSF Inox) - 10 points
5/ Rubens Bertogliati (Androni Giocattoli-Diquigiovanni) - 8 points


Best young rider classification

Richie PorteThe white jersey for the best young rider will still be on Richie Porte's (Team Saxo Bank) shoulders tomorrow:

1/ Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank) - 39h01'26"
2/ Robert Kiserlovski (Liquigas-Doimo) - +1'59"
3/ Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas-Doimo) - +2'52"
4/ Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) - +3'39"
5/ Jan Bakelandts (Omega Pharma-Lotto) - +8'49"

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

no comments yet | 984 views

this publication is published in: Giro d Italia | Giro d'Italia 2010


There are no comments yet, you can be the first to comment!!

Leave a comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
The address of your website

Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of five times eight ?