tuesday 27 November 2007 at 00h05

In the calm period after the end of the cycling season there's actually some news about Dutch cycling ... about the new manager for the Rabobank cycling team, about the rider of the year election and about Michael Boogerd being distinguished!
UPDATE 27 November: the new manager of the Rabobank cycling team has now been officially announced.


The new manager of the Rabobank cycling team won't be someone from the cycling world

Since the end of the Tour, the Rabobank cycling team officially didn't have a general manager any more. Indeed, after the Rasmussen case in the Tour de France, the former general manager Theo de Rooij resigned early August just after he came back in The Netherlands.
Since then, Henri van der Aat is the interim manager of the team and since the Vogelzang committee published its report on the Rasmussen case it's now time to appoint a new general manager.

A spokesman of Rabobank, a Dutch bank, is reported to have told the press that the person replacing Theo de Rooij would not be someone who's known in the cycling world.

The Dutch press agency ANP indicated Harold Knebel, the current director 'private banking' at Rabobank, would be this new manager.

UPDATE 27 November: the Rabobank cycling team today officially announced on Rabo Sport TV that Harold Knebel will indeed be the new manager from March 1st, 2008.
In the mean time Harold Knebel will start collaborating with the current interim manager, Henri van der Aat, in order to get the necessary basic knowledge before the start of the new cycling season. Henri van der Aat will completely focus on his own sports and leisure marketing company, Trefpunt, again from March 2008.

The interview below is in Dutch and presents Harold Knebel as an outsider in cycling world whose profile perfectly corresponds to the profile described in the report publish by the Vogelzang committee.

Henri van der Aat announced in an interview on Rabo Sport TV that based on the report of the Vogelzang committee several measures will be taken, especially concerning a better verification of the riders' whereabouts and an internal anti-doping programme in which all riders will be checked 2 to 3 times a month.

Lars Boom elected cyclist of the year

Against all expectations, Lars Boom (21 years old, a rider for the Espoirs at Rabobank) has been elected rider of the year during the 'cyclist gala' in Den Bosch (in the south of The Netherlands) based on a vote by a club of former cyclists (the Club of 48) and the readers of the Dutch magazine Wieler Magazine.

Lars Boom got this prize for winning the world championships cyclo-cross and time trial for Espoirs, for winning the Dutch championships cyclo-cross elite and for winning some other races ...

In this election he beats for example Stef Clement, Theo Bos, Thomas Dekker and even Michael Boogerd.

Robert Gesink has won the same prize for talents and Marianne Vos for women.


Michael Boogerd distinguished

To continue on news related to Rabobank, Michael Boogerd - the Rabobank rider who retired at the end of this cycling season - has been distinguished twice over the last few days ...
Michael Boogerd and Thomas Dekker just before the Tour de France 2007 prologue in London
First of all, during the presentation of his biography Boogie (written by the Dutch journalist Maarten Scholten in collaboration with Michael), Michael has been distinguished with the title member of honour of the Dutch cycling federation (Koninklijke Nederlandse Wielren Unie, KNWU). Michael joined a very selective group with this title since the KNWU doesn't hand out this title very often ... Joop Zoetemelk, Gerrie Knetemann and Leontien van Moorsel are some of the other Dutch cyclists who got this title before.

The second distinction for Michael Boogerd came today when he was decorated as a Companion of the Order of Orange-Nassau during the 'cyclist gala'.

During his career Boogerd has won two Tour de France stages, finished fifth in the overall ranking of the Tour de France 1998, once won the Amstel Gold Race and stood several times on the podium for this same race and for Liège-Bastogne-Liège over the last ten years. Finally Boogerd has won the Dutch championships three times.

So far for some news about Dutch cycling ... I could as well have called it news about the Rabobank cycling team ;-)

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

3 comments | 7079 views

this publication is published in: Cycling general (except Tour de France) | Tour de France


There are 3 comments!
  1. Niet alleen nieuws over de Rabobank:
    Marianne Vos is kopvrouw van de DSB wielerploeg en kreeg gisteren de onderscheiding uit handen van zesvoudig wereldkapioene Keetie van Oosten-Hage.
    (Keetie is van het geweldig goede bouwjaar 1949 en zij aan zij met haar heb ik tijdens de Still Kids Tour 2006 o.a. een aantal Vlaamse heuvels gefietst waaronder de Muur van Geraerdsberge, Koppenberg en de Patersberg)

    | Tonn Vergouwen | tuesday 27 November 2007 om 15h21

  2. Comme tu le dis, pas grand chose pendant l'inter-saison et voilà que T-Mobile vient d'annoncer son retrait de l'équipe pro du même nom à effet immédiat.
    Où vont donc se retrouver les coureurs de cette équipe ?
    L'équipe va-t-elle être reprise ?

    | Martin | tuesday 27 November 2007 om 16h48

  3. Da's waar ... niet alleen maar nieuws over de Rabobank, maar bij wijze van spreken dan toch ...

    Martin, ça confirme effectivement les rumeurs dont je parlais dans mon article le 6 novembre au sujet de l'équipe T-Mobile.

    Bonne question effectivement sur ce que vont devenir les coureurs de l'équipe ... surtout parce qu'après Discovery et Unibet c'est la troisième équipe ProTour qui disparaît !

    | Thomas Vergouwen | tuesday 27 November 2007 om 17h02

Leave a comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of two times eight ?