Saturday 22 May 2010 at 17h19

Vincenzo Nibali just won the 14th stage of the Giro d'Italia 2010 after having shown his perfect way to descend after the climb of the Monte Grappa. Richie Porte lost some time in this climb and thus loses his pink jersey to David Arroyo. For now he still has the white jersey of best young rider.

The summary of the 14th stage of the Giro d'Italia 2010

The return of the high mountain stages didn't scare of anyone since all riders came to the start in Ferrara at 12.07. The 100 first kilometers of the stage were completely flat before the riders started the climb of the Monte Grappa (1st category).

A first attempt by 26 riders to form a leading group doesn't succeed but after 35 kilometers 5 riders get ready for a new attack. William Bonnet (photo, Bbox Bouygues Telecom), Damien Monier (Cofidis), Alessandro Bisolti (Colnago - CSF Inox), Markus Eibegger (Footon-Servetto) William Bonnetand Steve Cummings (Team Sky) are joined a bit further by Filippo Pozzato (Katusha Team) and together they create a gap of up to 8'05" after 60 kilometers.

Bradley WigginsTheir gap goes down to 5'06" at the intermediate sprint in Asolo and to 3'02" at the foot of the Monte Grappa. The race exploses in this climb when Alessandro Bisolti attacks from the leading group, followed by an attack from Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) in the peloton. At the back of the peloton Stefano Garzelli (Acqua & Sapone) and Gilberto Simoni (Lampre-Farnese Vini) but also the pink jersey Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank) loose some time at the back of the peloton.

When Wiggins is taken back by the peloton led by the Liquigas team, several attacks follow and finally Vincenzo Nibali, Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Doimo), Michele Scarponi (Androni Giocattoli-Diquigiovanni) and Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) are ahead, followed a bit further by Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) and Carlos Sastre (Cervélo TestTeam).
At the end of the climb it starts raining again, which means the start of the descent will be a bit more dangerous. Ivan Basso arrives first on top, ahead of Michele Scarponi and Vincenzo Nibali. Sastre and Vinokourov arrive there at 1'10" and the group with the pink jersey at 4'35". Branislau Samoilau (Quick Step), Damiano Cunego, Bauke Mollema (Rabobank), David Arroyo (Caisse d'Epargne), Steve Cummings and Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) and a bit further Linus Gerdemann (Team Milram) are in between.
Since Nibali is the best rider of the 4 in the leading group in the descent, the Italian rider attacks and rapidly creates a gap. Behind the leading group, Alexandre Vinokourov does the same with Carlos Sastre.

In the last kilometers Vincenzo Nibali maintains his gap around 50 seconds on the 3 purchasing riders and he thus does the last kilometers of the stage in some sort of individual time trial towards the stage win in Asolo. Behind him his team mate Ivan Basso wins the sprint before Michele Scarponi and Cadel Evans.

David Arroyo takes the pink jersey from Richie Porte after this stage.

The videos of the 14th stage of the Giro d'Italia 2010

> Watch the video summary of the 14th stage of the Tour of Italy 2010

> Watch the last kilometer of the stage

The classifications of the Giro d'Italia 2010 after the 14th stage


The stage classification for Ferrara > Asolo

The 10 first riders in this stage were:
1/ Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Doimo) - 4h57'51" (41,9 km/h)
2/ Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Doimo) - +0'23"
3/ Michele Scarponi (Androni Giocattoli-Diquigiovanni)
4/ Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team)
5/ Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) - +1'34"
6/ Branislau Samoilau (Quick Step) - +2'25"
7/ Bauke Mollema (Rabobank)
8/ Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Farnese Vini)
9/ Linus Gerdemann (Team Milram)
10/ Marco Pinotti (HTC-Columbia)

General classification

David ArroyoAs mentioned above the leader of the general classification changes with David Arroyo of the Caisse d'Epargne team taking over the pink jersey from Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank):

1/ David Arroyo (Caisse d'Epargne) - 61h22'54"
2/ Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank) - +0'39"
3/ Xavier Tondo (Cervélo TestTeam) - +2'12"
4/ Robert Kiserlovski (Liquigas-Doimo) - +2'35"
5/ Linus Gerdemann (Team Milram) - +3'52"
6/ Carlos Sastre (Cervélo TestTeam) - +5'27"
7/ Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) - +6'32"
8/ Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Doimo) - +6'51"
9/ Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) - +7'15"
10/ Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) - +7'26"

Classification by points

Alexandre VinokourovThanks to his 5th place in today's stage, Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) takes the lead in the classification by points and Jérôme Pineau (Quick Step) thus passes his red jersey to him:

1/ Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) - 71 points
2/ Jérôme Pineau (Quick Step) - 66 points
3/ Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) - 66 points
4/ Filippo Pozzato (Katusha Team) - 65 points
5/ Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) - 59 points
6/ Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Doimo) - 55 points
7/ Greg Henderson (Team Sky) - 55 points
8/ Matthew Goss (HTC-Columbia) - 47 points
9/ Robert Förster (Team Milram) - 47 points
10/ Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Farnese Vini) - 45 points

King of the Mountains classification

Matthew Lloyd (Omega Pharma-Lotto) is still comfortably installed as the best climber of this Giro for the time being:

1/ Matthew Lloyd (Omega Pharma-Lotto) - 29 points
2/ Xavier Tondo (Cervélo TestTeam) - 16 points
3/ Rubens Bertogliati (Androni Giocattoli-Diquigiovanni) - 16 points
4/ Chris Anker Sörensen (Team Saxo Bank) - 15 points
5/ Paul Voss (Team Milram) - 11 points


Best young rider classification

Richie PorteThe young Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank) might have lost his pink jersey for the general classification but he keeps his white jersey as best young rider:

1/ Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank) - 61h23'33"
2/ Robert Kiserlovski (Liquigas-Doimo) - +1'56"
3/ Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas-Doimo) - +11'48"
4/ Dario Cataldo (Quick Step) - +13'32"
5/ Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) - +13'42"

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

1 comment | 2649 views

this publication is published in: Giro d Italia | Giro d'Italia 2010


There are 1 comments!

    | Roland TISSIER | Saturday 22 May 2010 om 17h32

Leave a comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
The address of your website

Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of seven times seven ?