Sunday 13 February 2022 at 21h24

In the past week, Amaury Sport Organisation (A.S.O.) has announced the selection of teams which will participate in the Tour de France 2022 which will start in Copenhagen in Denmark on Friday 1 July.

While the announcement was expected, it finally of course only really concerned 2 teams because that's the only margin which remains for the organisor to make his choice among the candidate teams for participation in the Tour de France. And A.S.O. decided to choose two French teams for those final wildcards!


The selection procedure of the teams for the Tour de France 2022

Indeed, the maximum number of participating teams is decided by the International Cycling Union (UCI) and is currently fixed at 22. This organisation which governs the cycling sport also details further rules among those 22 teams which can participate in the race:
  • the obligation to participate for the 18 UCI WorldTeams (the first division; if you're interested, it's in article 2.15.127 of the regulations for cycling races on road which determines this rule)
  • the obligation for the organisor to invite the 2 best UCI ProTeams (the second division) in the classifications of the previous year (see article 2.1.007bis)
which means there's only 2 opportunities left for the organisor of a Grand Tour like the Tour de France to invite additional UCI ProTeams.

The teams which have been selected for the Tour de France 2022

In this case, A.S.O. has decided to invite 2 additional French UCI ProTeams (among the 15 remaining teams because there's a total of 17 UCI ProTeams this year).

More precisely the teams which will be on the start line of the Tour de France 2022 in Copenhagen will be:
  • the 18 UCI WorldTeams:
    - AG2R Citroën Team France,
    - Astana Qazaqstan Team Kazakhstan,
    - Bahrain Victorious Bahrain,
    - Bora-Hansgrohe Germany,
    - Cofidis France,
    - EF Education-Easypost United States of America,
    - Groupama-FDJ France,
    - INEOS Grenadiers Great Britain,
    - Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux Belgium,
    - Israel Premier Tech Israel,
    - Jumbo-Visma Netherlands,
    - Lotto Soudal Belgium,
    - Movistar Team Spain,
    - Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team Belgium,
    - Team BikeExchange-Jayco Australia,
    - Team DSM Netherlands,
    - Trek-Segafredo United States of America
    - and UAE Team Emirates United Arab Emirates
  • the 2 best UCI ProTeams 2021:
    - Alpecin-Fenix Germany
    - and Team Arkéa-Samsic France
  • the 2 additional UCI ProTeams which have been invited:
    - B&B Hotels-KTM France
    - and TotalEnergies France
In total there will thus be 22 teams among which 6 French, 3 Belgian, 2 German, 2 American, 2 Dutch, 1 Australian, 1 Bahraini, 1 British, 1 Emirati, 1 Spanish, 1 Israelian and 1 Kazakhstanian.

Here's the full list of these 22 teams with their official jerseys (it is however not guaranteed that the riders will wear this jersey because it's often at the occasion of the Tour de France that a new jersey is being introduced, that a new sponsor is added or that a dedicated jersey is created):
The teams of the Tour de France 2022

Click on the image and then on the 4 arrows at the bottom right corner to see the image in detail

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

3 comments | 21605 views

this publication is published in: Tour de France | Tour de France 2022


There are 3 comments!
  1. Alpecin est une équipe sous licence belge et non allemande.

    Par ailleurs, on écrit Kazakhe et Bahreïnite

    | denis | Wednesday 08 June 2022 om 16h03

  2. dans quel ordre de préséance seront inscrits les 22 équipes
    pour l'attribution des dossards.
    Par exemple, quelle est l'équipe qui portera les dossards allant de 121 à 128 ?

    | Fardel Michel | Saturday 18 June 2022 om 08h02

  3. es_que remi cavagna est au depart de ce tour 2022 ?

    | remy | tuesday 28 June 2022 om 15h03

Leave a comment

It is no longer possible to comment this article. Continue the discussion on this topic after having read the following article:

>> The participants list of the Tour de France 2022 and the start order and -times for the initial time trial on Friday 1 July