tuesday 04 June 2013 at 19h34

Today's stage unfolded as most stages in professional cycling do since the stage, with its two minor climbs, couldn't prevent the sprinters from being present in the peloton at the finish in Tarare. It was thus an early breakaway which animated the stage before being taken back just before the finish. Despite several attempts in the last kilometers, the peloton finally arrived for a bunch sprint and Edvald Boasson-Hagen turned out to be the fastest of all.

No changes in the general classification, before the individual time trial tomorrow ...

The summary of the 3rd stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné 2013: Ambérieu-en-Bugey > Tarare

In the 3rd stage today in the Critérium du Dauphiné 2013, 167 kilometers were waiting for the riders at the start in Ambérieu-en-Bugey. Chris-Anker Sorensen (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) didn't come to the start since he had a gastroenteritis and there were thus 173 riders who took off towards Tarare.

After an attack from Fumiyuki Beppu (Orica-GreenEDGE), the breakaway of the day was formed right from the first kilometer, with Jacob Rathe (Garmin-Sharp), Sander Cordeel (Lotto-Belisol) and Juan Antonio Flecha (Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team) and after 20 kilometers in today's stage their gap already reaches its maximum at 6'50" before getting stable around 6 minutes.

While approaching the 100th kilometer in today's stage the gap however starts to drop rapidly and when the riders of the FDJ team take over from Team Europcar at the head of the peloton the gap drops to 1'55" on top of the Col des Echarmeaux where Flecha is the first to start the descent. The Spanish rider is also the first to cross the line at the intermediate sprint in Cublize.

When the peloton gets really close to the breakaway at 17 kilometers from the finish, Sander Cordeel decides to attack but at 13 kilometers from the finish the adventure also comes to an end for him and the complete peloton thus starts the climb of the Col des Sauvages.

In this climb Laurent Didier (Radioshack-Leopard) attacks and Bart de Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) joins him and then takes off to be the first on top, 12 seconds ahead of Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) who's leading the peloton at that point.

In the last few kilometers Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) joins the Belgian rider of the Kazakh team but at 2 kilometers from the finish the peloton gets back on them. A new attempt doesn't succeed either and Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) finally wins the sprint ahead of Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE).

The classifications of the Critérium du Dauphiné 2013 after the 3rd stage


The stage classification for the 3rd stage: Ambérieu-en-Bugey > Tarare

Here's the top 10 of this stage:

1/ Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) - 4h03'32"
2/ Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE)
3/ Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
4/ Thor Hushovd (BMC Racing Team)
5/ Elia Viviani (Cannondale Pro Cycling)
6/ Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (Team Argos-Shimano)
7/ Nacer Bouhanni (FDJ)
8/ Paul Voss (Team NetApp-Endura)
9/ Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-QuickStep)
10/ Francesco Gavazzi (Astana)

The general classification

No important changes in the general classification since the Canadian rider David Veilleux (Europcar) finished the stage at the 78th place in the first group of 118 riders.

1/ David Veilleux (Europcar) - 12h00'22"
2/ Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) - +1'56"
3/ Tony Gallopin (Radioshack-Leopard) - +1'57"
4/ Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team)
5/ Warren Barguil (Team Argos-Shimano)

Tomorrow times will be set sharp in the time trial between Villars-les-Dombes and its Parc des Oiseaux.

Points classification

Some small changes in the points classification where Gianni Meersman gets an even more comfortable lead.

1/ Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) - 34 points
2/ Elia Viviani (Cannondale Pro Cycling) - 21 points
3/ David Veilleux (Europcar) - 20 points
4/ Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) - 15 points
5/ Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (Team Argos-Shimano) - 13 points

King of the Mountain classification

The two 3rd category climbs of today's stage didn't have any impact on the top 5 of this classification and tomorrow it will remain unchanged as well.

1/ Thomas Damuseau (Team Argos-Shimano) - 55 points
2/ David Veilleux (Europcar) - 40 points
3/ Ricardo Garcia Ambroa (Euskaltel-Euskadi) - 28 points
4/ Jean-Marc Bideau (Bretagne-Séché Environnement) - 24 points
5/ Arnaud Gérard (Bretagne-Séché Environnement) - 15 points


Young riders classification

The top 5 of this classification doesn't change either:

1/ Tony Gallopin (Radioshack-Leopard) - 12h02'19"
2/ Warren Barguil (Team Argos-Shimano)
3/ Angel Madrazo (Movistar Team)
4/ Dominik Nerz (BMC Racing Team)
4/ Peter Kennaugh (Team Sky)

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

no comments yet | 2183 views

this publication is published in: Critérium du Dauphiné 2013 | Criterium du Dauphiné Libéré


There are no comments yet, you can be the first to comment!!

Leave a comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
The address of your website

Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of three times five ?