Saturday 08 May 2010 at 18h29

This afternoon a 8.4 kilometer individual time trial in the streets of Amsterdam was the official start of the Giro d'Italia 2010. It was won by Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) and the British rider thus became the first to wear the pink jersey as the leader of the general classification.


A short and technical track

After the start from a long start podium on the Museumplein, the riders left, under a grey and somewhat rainy sky, on a track with a lot of turns over 8.4 kilometers towards the Stadionplein in front of the Olympic Stadium.

> Click here to see the route of this stage and of the other stages of the Giro d'Italia 2010 on Google Maps

A summary of the first stage / time trial of the Giro d'Italia 2010

The first rider to start in this 93rd Giro d'Italia was Matthias Russ (Team Milram) at 1.55PM. The rider who left 60th, Gustav Larsson (Team Saxo Bank) at 2.54PM, was the first rider to get a reference time at 10'25".

After him there were no less than 80 riders -and not the worst!- who finished before his time was beaten by Brent Bookwalter (BMC Racing Team) who took no less than 5 seconds less.

After the surprising Bookwalter it's up to the time trial specialist Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) to start as 186th rider and to show his British time trial champion jersey in the roads of Amsterdam and taking 2 seconds of the best time so far. By finishing the 8.4 kilometers in 10'18" he reached an average speed of 48,932 km/u.

The World Champion and team mate of Bookwalter, Cadel Evans, finished in 10'20 while Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) gives in 5 seconds on Wiggins' time. David Millar finished in 10'24", 6 seconds more than Wiggins.


The classifications after this stage

The general classification and the stage classification are of course the same after this first stage. The top 10 of this classification is shown below:
1/ Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) - 10'18"
2/ Brent Bookwalter (BMC Racing Team) - +0'02"
3/ Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) - +0'02"
4/ Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) - +0'05"
5/ Gregory Henderson (Team Sky) - +0'05"
6/ Richie Porte (Team Saxo Bank) - +0'05"
7/ David Millar (Garmin-Transitions) - +0'06"
8/ Gustav Larsson (Team Saxo Bank) - +0'07"
9/ Jos van Emden (Rabobank) - +0'09"
10/ Marco Pinotti (HTC-Columbia) - +0'09"

door Thomas Vergouwen
Vond u dit artikel interessant? Laat het uw vrienden op Facebook weten door op de buttons hieronder te klikken!

2 comments | 1530 views

this publication is published in: Giro d Italia | Giro d'Italia 2010


There are 2 comments!

    | Roland TISSIER | Saturday 08 May 2010 om 19h25

  2. Geweldig om te zien dat het wielrennen zo leeft in Nederland.
    Het grote aantal toeschouwers waar je over spreekt bedroeg maar liefst 150.000!!
    En dat voor een proloog van ruim 8 kilometer.
    Belooft wat voor de volgende twee etappes.

    | Tonn Vergouwen | Saturday 08 May 2010 om 20h09

Leave a comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
The address of your website

Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of five times two ?