home | Nederlands | English | Français
> news
> photographs
> UCI cycling calendar
> it's your Tour!
> videos
> guestbook
> search engine
> my CV
> >> copyright <<

follow velowire on Instagram
  • Latest photos on this site:

Summary 2nd stage Paris-Nice 2017: a split peloton stage which ends in a sprint won by Colbrelli

Added: monday 06 March 2017 at 16:41:00
  • < Blog | share on Facebook | delicious | twitter | Google | technorati | printer friendly version

    Summary 2nd stage Paris-Nice 2017: a split peloton stage which ends in a sprint won by ColbrelliThe second stage of Paris-Nice 2017 saw the peloton being divide into several groups, because of the high speed and the effect of the weather conditions, but despite the fact that a group of 5 riders survived from the big peloton leading the race since the start of the stage, the stage finally finished in a bunch sprint which took place in Amilly and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) won it!

    The summary of the second stage of Paris-Nice 2017: Rochefort-en-Yvelines > Amilly

    Just after noon, the peloton of 171 riders of the 75th edition of Paris-Nice started the second stage of the race and this stage again almost completely took place in the cold and under the rain.

    While approaching the Côte des Granges-le-Roi, the only difficulty of the day - of the 3rd category -, a group of 9 riders got away from the peloton, including the leader of the King of the Mountains classification, Romain Hardy (Fortuneo Vital Concept) and that's how the polka dot jersey got first on top of this climb.

    WHile these 9 riders were taken back at kilometer 28, the peloton was than broken into no less than 6 groups because of the wind and of the high speed early in this stage. In the first group we had about fifty riders, including the yellow jersey Arnaud Démare (FDJ), the first rider next to him in the general classification Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors), but also the favorites Richie Porte (BMC Racing Team) and Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo). We also found John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) in this group, who won the intermediate sprint in Pussay.

    The breakawayWhen the group accellerated again, a new split occurs and Alberto Contador and Richie Porte then end up in the second respectively the third group. About sixty kilometers from the finish, the group with Contador was still at 35 seconds behind the leading group which then contained 24 riders, while the group with Porte was over 4 minutes back! When the group with Contador merges with the leading group, 6 riders decided to give it a chance and the riders leading the race were Sven Erik Byström (Team Katusha Alpecin), Tony Gallopin (Lotto-Soudal), Maarten Wynants (Team LottoNL-Jumbo), Marc Sarreau (FDJ), Geoffrey Soupe (Cofidis, solutions crédits) and Evaldas Siskevicius (Delko Marseille Provence KTM), who got company a few kilometers further from Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors). In the battle, the group however loses Marc Sarreau with a flat tire but also Geoffrey Soupe, and at 40 kilometers from the finish these 5 leading riders still were one minute ahead of the first peloton.

    About twenty kilometers from the finish, Philippe Gilbert decided to do a solo attack, but the Belgian champion was taken back a bit over 6 kilometers from the finish.

    Philippe Gilbert

    Despite several attempts in the final part of the stage, the victory was decided in a bunch sprint anyway, and in this game Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) turned out to be the fastest today, ahead of John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) and Arnaud Démare (FDJ).

    The video summary of the 2nd stage of Paris-Nice 2017

    The classifications of Paris-Nice 2017 after the second stage

    Here are the classifications after today's stage:

    The classification of the 2nd stage Rochefort-en-Yvelines > Amilly

    Sonny ColbrelliHere's the top 10 of this 2nd stage:

    1/ Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) - 4h20'59"
    2/ John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo)
    3/ Arnaud Démare (FDJ)
    4/ Dylan Groenewegen (Team LottoNL-Jumbo)
    5/ Christophe Laporte (Cofidis, solutions crédits)
    6/ Matti Breschel (Astana Pro Team)
    7/ Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)
    8/ André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal)
    9/ Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha Alpecin)
    10/ Evaldas Siskevicius (Delko Marseille Provence KTM)

    General classification

    Arnaud DémareIn the general classification, Arnaud Démare (FDJ) settles in even a bit more as the leader by finishing 3rd in today's stage:

    1/ Arnaud Démare (FDJ) - 7h43'28"
    2/ Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) - +0'06"
    3/ Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) - +0'17"
    4/ Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha Alpecin) - +0'19"
    5/ Tony Gallopin (Lotto-Soudal)

    Points classification

    Arnaud DémareArnaud Démare (FDJ) remains the leader in the points classification in which Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) now occupies the second place after this second stage:

    1/ Arnaud Démare (FDJ) - 24 points
    2/ Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) - 15 points
    3/ John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) - 15 points
    4/ Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) - 14 points
    5/ Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) - 13 points

    King of the Mountains classification

    Romain HardyIn these sprinters stages, Romain Hardy is rather alone at the top of the King of the Mountains classification, since he once again took the maximum number of points in today's stage:

    1/ Romain Hardy (Fortuneo-Vital Concept) - 12 points
    2/ Luke Rowe (Team Sky) - 2 points
    3/ Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) - 2 points
    4/ Julien Simon (Cofidis, solutions crédits) - 2 points
    5/ Kristijan Koren (Cannondale Drapac Professional Cycling Team) - 1 point

    Best young rider classification

    Julian AlaphilippeJulian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) comfortably remains the leader of the best young riders classification, especially thanks to his performance yesterday:

    1/ Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) - 7h43'34"
    2/ Davide Formolo (Cannondale Drapac Professional Cycling Team) - +1'12"
    3/ Simon Yates (Orica-Scott)
    4/ Sven Erik Byström (Team Katusha Alpecin) - +2'05"
    5/ Magnus Cort Nielsen (Orica-Scott) - +3'04"

    photos © A.S.O./Alex Broadway

    by Thomas Vergouwen
    Did you like this article? Tell your friends on Facebook by clicking the buttons below!

    > 1 comment | shown 3,580x

    this article appears in the following categories: Paris-Nice| Paris-Nice 2017 | share on Facebook | delicious | twitter | Google | technorati


Currently 1 comments!
  1. Il faisait 5° à Amilly ! Les coureurs étaient épuisés à l'arrivée. Nacer Bouhanni qui a abandonné est passé sur la ligne, complètement transi.

    | Marie45 | tuesday 07 March 2017 at 15:59:24

Post your comment

Your name
Your e-mail address
[this will never be published and is only used to allow me to contact you if necessary and potentially to receive notifications of new comments]
Be informed about new comments
Check this box if you want to receive an e-mail when new comments are posted to this article (please make sure your e-mail address above is correct to make sure you'll receive those notifications!)
The address of your website

Your comment

Attention!! In order to fight spam you need to answer the simple question below. The answer needs to be given as a number between 2 and 100. If your answer is not correct the other input in this form will be ignored.

What is the result of five times three ?